How to Identify Your Spouse’s Love Language & Why it Matters

If you aren’t familiar with what Love Languages are and how they can better help you understand your spouse, you’ve come to the right place!

What are Love Languages?

The Love Languages concept was created by Gary Chapman to help individuals better understand how they would like to receive love in their relationships. The Five Love Languages are Acts of Service, Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Gifts and surprises, and Touch.

Why Does it Matter?

Yes, knowing our Love Language is a good thing to know about ourselves, but it’s so much more than that. It’s important to know our Love Language, but it’s equally important to know our spouse’s Love Language. We tend to show our spouse love the way that we want them to show us love. This might not be a problem if your spouse’s Love Language is the same as yours, but if it’s different from our own, this can be problematic.

But don’t worry, once you identify how to love your spouse the way they want to be loved, it’s so freeing!

The Love Language Quiz

Even if you’ve taken the Love Language quiz before, I think it’s still a great thing to review each year with your spouse to ensure that nothing has changed. I’ve noticed that traumatic events can sometimes affect our Love Language preferences, so keep that in mind as you navigate all of this. If you’d like to take the quiz again, I think it could be fun.

How to Identify Your Spouse’s Love Language

After taking the quiz, share the results with your spouse. If you have more than one Love Language that is high, is there one that you’d prefer more than another? Talk about it with your spouse and come up with tangible ways you can show each other more love. Side note, I do think that food should be a sixth Love Language because delicious food trumps almost everything (in my opinion).

If you’re looking for more tangible ways to show your spouse love according to their love language, you’ll benefit from digging a little deeper into that post.

Let me know if you have other questions about Love Languages. I’d also recommend checking out their LOVE NUDGE app to help you set reminders to show your spouse love.

Until next time,
Happy Marriaging!